How to add user on mac laptop

Once you have administrative access to your Mac, you can reset your old forgotten password and then log out and log back in with your regular account. This method of gaining access to your Mac has a few drawbacks. Start by turning off your Mac. If you're not able to shut down normally, press and hold the power switch.


  • Learn about the various types of Mac user accounts.
  • how to do the question mark in spanish on mac.
  • mac os x lion ruby 1.9.3;
  • Creating New User Accounts on Your Mac!
  • invalid source mac address wifiway.
  • youtube converter to wmv for mac.

You can use Single User mode for many different troubleshooting processes, including repairing a startup drive that won't start up. Your Mac will display scrolling lines of text as it boots up. The ": You need to mount the startup drive, so you can access the files that are located on it.

Creating a New Administrator Account in Mac OS

This will make your Mac behave the way it did the first time you turned it on, when it guided you through the process of creating an administrator user account. By default, when you setup a new Mac, that default user account on setup is an administrator account. If you create a new admin account or a new standard account , you can easily delete that user account later too if need be. Aside from removing unused accounts, that can be helpful for if you need to set up a temporary Admin account for a troubleshooting task, and then when finished troubleshooting, that account can be removed.

On a related topic, one fairly common pro security-conscious strategy is to create a new separate standard user account and use that Standard account exclusively for most day-to-day computer usage.


  • Add a user.
  • Can't Log in to Your Mac? Create a New Admin Account;
  • mac os x virtual memory usage!

Then, only login and access the administrator account when specific admin tasks need to be performed. That strategy can help to prevent possible exposures or data breaches in some scenarios, but it can be a little cumbersome to switch back and forth between two different user accounts for different computing tasks. Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox!

Enter your email address below:. The iMax I bought a few years never needed an administrator password.

How to delete a user account on MacBook

The need for one was removed as I would be and am the only user. I realise that, if this were easy to do, in most cases, it would be easy to breach security. It is a good idea to create a admin account, then change your personal account so that it is not an administrator. Two advantages: When you disclose your admin account credentials at the genius bar, they will not be working in your personal account.

soltieflacvorde.gq/map22.php

macOS Sierra: Set up users, guests, and groups on your Mac

The username field is already filled out. You can install software from a regular account, but both fields are blank. You can let other people use your Mac temporarily as guest users without adding them as individual users. You can use parental controls to set restrictions so guests can access only items that you want to share. Files created by a guest are stored in a temporary folder, but that folder and its contents are deleted when the guest logs out.

Create and delete users in macOS

You can locate your Mac if someone finds it, logs in as a guest, and then uses Safari to access the Internet. Open the Login Options pane for me. If you choose a user, then whenever the Mac starts up, that user is automatically logged in. If you choose Off, then at startup the Mac opens a login window showing all the users. Automatic login takes effect the next time you restart the Mac. Automatic login allows anyone to access your Mac simply by restarting it.

When FileVault is turned on, automatic login is disabled. Select the options you want. If you have any questions, click the Help button for detailed information.

Delete a user

To permit new users to access your shared files or screen, you may need to change settings in the File Sharing, Screen Sharing, or Remote Management pane of Sharing preferences. Open Sharing preferences for me. Click the New Account pop-up menu, then choose a type of user. Click Create User. Depending on the type of user you create, you can also do any of the following: